Yad Vashem

Yad Vashem (Hebrew: יד ושם) is Israel’s official memorial to the Jewish victims of the Holocaust. It is located on Mount Herzl in Jerusalem.

Yad Vashem was established in 1953, as the world center for documentation, research, education, and commemoration of the Holocaust.

For over half a century, Yad Vashem has been committed to four pillars of remembrance:

• Commemoration- Yad Vashem is dedicated to commemorate the six million Jews murdered by the Nazis and their collaborators, as well as the numerous Jewish communities destroyed during the Shoah, so that they will have an eternal remembrance.

• Documentation- The Yad Vashem Archives house the largest collection of Holocaust documentation in the world. The 125 million pages of documentary evidence, films, and 420,000 photographs, as well as more than 100,000 survivor testimonies stand as indisputable proof of the genocide and crimes against humanity perpetrated by the Nazis and their collaborators.

• Research- International Institute For Holocaust Research is to encourage and support worldwide scholarly research on the Holocaust. The Institute has paved a new trail in Holocaust research by extending its research beyond the perpetrator’s and bystander’s records, to include testimonies, documents and recollections of the survivors and those who perished.

• Education- Established in 1993, the International School for Holocaust Studies conducts educational programs and produces educational material for a variety of target population and educational organizations in Israel and abroad. Over 100 staff members work together with thousands of teachers, students, soldiers and pupils each year to promote Holocaust education and remembrance.

If you are planning a trip to Israel, you must visit Yad Vashem!


About the author

You might also be interested in:

Israel’s Most Famous...

By Anthony Freelander

Interesting Facts About The Star...

By Anthony Freelander

Join the conversation (No comments yet)

Leave a Reply