Israel Prize

Israel Prize (Hebrew: פרס ישראל) is considered to be the most highly regarded award in Israel.


It was first awarded in 1953 by the Minister of Education Ben-Tzur Dinor. Since 1953, the Israel Prize has been awarded every year on the eve of the Israeli Day of Independence, in a state ceremony in Jerusalem, in the presence of the president, the prime minister, the Knesset chairperson, and the Supreme Court president.

The prize is awarded in the following four areas, with the precise subfields changing from year to year in a cycle of 4 to 7 years, except for the last area, which is awarded annually:


The humanities, social sciences, and Jewish studies
The natural and exact sciences
Culture, arts, communication, and sports
Lifetime achievement and exceptional contribution to the nation


Prize winners are elected by ad-hoc committees, appointed by the minister of education for each category each year.


Decisions of the committee must be unanimous. and the winners must be Israeli citizens. Each winner receives NIS 75,000.



About the author

You might also be interested in:

Israel’s Most Famous...

By Anthony Freelander

Interesting Facts About The Star...

By Anthony Freelander

Join the conversation (No comments yet)

Leave a Reply